Start Your Christmas Planning Early

          Mr. Claus and I always enjoy a post-Christmas vacation at a warm beach.  My husband is crazy about surfing.

Image

Immediately on return, Santa begins planning for the upcoming year. 

Even though Halloween candy is only half-eaten, if you want a stress-free Christmas, you need to get to work now.  My husband cannot possibly be responsible for all the gifts for everyone in the world.  You have to help.  You have to shop.

Maybe you’re one of those people who shops year round.  Then you’re already ahead of the game.  Unfortunately, too many people forget what they have bought.  Don’t let that happen to you.  Bring out your stash of gifts and start your list.   

Make sure you hide your hand-written list where no one will see it.  If you keep it on your computer, use a secret file name like Peanut Butter Cookies so family members won’t guess at what’s inside. 

Write down the presents you already have next to the intended recipient.  You may happily discover that you’ve nearly finished your shopping. 

If you haven’t, sit quietly and contemplate each person you want to gift.  The joy of Christmas is thinking about our loved ones and what might delight them.  Would your daughter like a pair of earrings for her newly pierced ears: your son, the chef, an excellent carving knife: a new book for Aunt Esther?

Add those not-yet-purchased gifts with an asterisk next to them to your list. 

Here’s my list for Mr. Claus:

Beard trimmer

Book‘TWAS THE LATE NIGHT OF CHRISTMAS so he’ll finally appreciate my work.

*pajamas

*foot soak

       Once I purchase those last gifts, I’ll remove the asterisks.

Now with your list in hand, when you go shopping, you’ll have a purpose and save time and energy.

Did reading the secret file name Peanut Butter Cookies make you hungry?    Download a yummy recipe here.

 005

Don’t feel guilty eating them.  They’re brain food to help you come up with great gift ideas.

Perhaps you’ve had an interesting experience making Christmas lists, or finding long-forgotten gifts, you’d like to share?  And I’m always on the lookout for yummy brain food recipes.

November 6th we’ll talk about what to do with your list.

 

Until then, let’s all strive for a stress-free, love-filled Christmas . . .

6 thoughts on “Start Your Christmas Planning Early

  1. Such a good idea! I’m a year round shopper so have a good start. I give lots of books autographed by the author/illustrator & learned awhile ago to also write the title on the list, not just book!

  2. Hi, Mrs. Saint Nick! Like you, I love making lists. In my computer file, I add any and all gift ideas for the future (such as an 10th-birthday gift idea for my niece, added to my list on the day she was born), bad ideas (such as NO pet cam for my cat-in-law because it must be attached from a collar and he doesn’t have a collar), and ideas to avoid repeating (i.e., I write DONE next to the DVD of the movie Adaptation for my brother because he doesn’t need me to give him another copy next Christmas, and another copy the Christmas after…).

Leave a Reply

